A little bit of smoke

Smoked sausage, sauerkraut, and mashed potatoes. Renfrew County Gold.

I left half of the sausages from last week with Mario, about 10 kg. On the advice of our expert / co-conspirator, we planned to smoke them in Mario’s make-shift smoker for a day. The temporary smoker is made out of some cedar planks and vapour barrier. It works brilliantly and it’s a good stand-in until he has time to build a more permanent smoke-house this summer.

Today he delivered the sausages and I’m eating my first ones as I write this post. They are amazingly good. I wasn’t sure how I’d like the smoke but I’m a big fan. 

I currently have about 25 kg or so of various pig parts including a LOT of bacon sitting in a brine, waiting to hit the smoker. About 10 days in brine followed by 4 or 5 days in the smoker will make a whole pile of goodness that will get hung from the copper pipes in my basement for a couple of months before I eat them.  So good. Life is good. 

Among other things, I washed out and cleaned up my sap buckets today in preparation for the tapping of the trees tomorrow. Fun fun. More adventure awaits.

Leave a Reply

