A busy September

It’s been a busy month so far. But good with lots of time in the kitchen preserving the harvest. I picked a bushel of tomatoes from my garden and turned them into sauce.

Having the food mill makes the job a lot easier. I washed and chopped the tomatoes, put them in the hopper and turned the crank. Tomato pulp comes out one side and the seeds and skin come out the other.  I reduced the pulp by half and processed it in the pressure canner. I likely have enough plain tomato sauce to last the year.

A couple of weeks ago I picked a 12 quart basket and canned them whole. I think I’m done with tomatoes for the year. 

My garden produced loads of zucchini. I sauteeed it, made fritters, pancakes,  baked zucchini tots, breaded slices and salads. And I canned 2 batches of zucchini relish.  I also gave lots of it away. 

Fermented honey garlic dills have been a big hit this year.  I’ve likely made close to 20 quarts and they keep getting eaten. It’s a pretty quick recipe where I slice the cucumers , mix with salt and garlic and dill, cover with water and ferment in the jars for 3 days before putting them in the fridge.  These pickles are my most successful fermented cucumber yet.

I’ve made 2 batches of tangy dill cucumber relish.  It’s so good.  I envision eating most of it by the spoonful in front of the fridge at night. And I’ve made a lot of peach galettes.

Dinners continue to be local feasts. Last night I had garlic and pepper sausages from the Shulist’s with some really really good purple and red potatoes from Blake; and corn from David.

Today the leftovers became a yummy breakfast. 

Garden clean up will start soon. I still have beets, carrots and Jerusalem artichokes to harvest and process but pretty much everything else is ready to go. And then I can start to plan for next year’s garden. 

Leave a Reply

