A weekend in May

Friday was just about perfect.  Mid 20’s, not a cloud in the sky, and I had booked a vacation day to do some chores and head to the cottage.

image

First up was picking up the rototiller at the rental place and turning over the veggie garden.  I didn’t do a good job of putting it to bed in the fall so the garden was a bit of a mess. The tiller made quick work of it and I decided to expand this year.  I think the garden is about 15 x 30 now and I  dug a trench around it to have a barrier between lawn and food. I managed to harvest some green onions that had sprouted up from last year’s crop.  So nice.

image

The afternoon at the cottage was great. The water wasn’t quite warm enough to swim yet (like I did May 6, 2013) but it was nice spending some time at the dock.

Food for the weekend included grilled salmon, onion soup, lamb stew,  and kale salad.

image

The stew meat came from a lamb I just puchased and the meat was still on the bone.

image

The bones helped to make the gravy incredibly rich and tasty.

image

And I served it with mashed potatoes, roasted beets, sautéed mushrooms and a kale and broccoli  salad.   So good.

Being May, of course I woke up to snow!

image

All good though.  It was pretty much a perfect weekend and the garden is ready to plant!

Leave a Reply

