It’s about time

image

I find it hard to believe that I’ve never attempted to make dosa before but I really don’t remember ever doing it.  The picture above shows my first attempt.

Dosas look like a crepe and are made with a batter of rice and urad dal that’s been left to ferment.

image

I started by soaking 1.5 cups of rice and a half a cup of urad dal (think lentil) in a litres of water for about 24 hours. Then I drained off the water, blended the mixture to a smooth paste and added water back in until it was a pourable consistency.

image

That mixture sat in a loosely covered bowl on the counter for a couple of days until it was a little bubbly and had started to ferment.

To cook, I wiped a heated non stick pan with a damp paper towel and poured in some batter.

image

I spread it around with the ladle and drizzled a teaspoon of oil around it. Once it crisped up I flipped it, cooked the other side for 30 seconds and folded it on to a plate.

image

They turned out well for a first attempt and they are surprisingly filling.   Often they are served with served with spicy potatoes and sambar – a lentil and veg stew with a sour tamarind note.  Today I served with my standby favourite – moong dal with coconut curry.  It was good.

Leave a Reply

