A day of food

image

I started the day at the market. Being eager, I was the first customer of the day. Some vendors hadn’t even arrived yet.  I like being early.  It’s not like they save the best produce for later on.

image

I try to buy something from each food vendor to keep them coming back. This week I got potatoes, cabbage, beans; broccoli,   dilly beans (mmm) and sun flowers.

image

I also got 2 breakfasts. A bacon puff from one vendor and a breakfast sandwich from another. I felt compelled to support them.

For lunch I made a pot of corn chowder.

image

It was my first batch of the season and it was good but local corn isn’t at its best yet this year.

image

For dinner I made garlicky lamb meatballs with lots of roasted cumin and naan bread, and I served it with tzatziki, lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers.

image

For the naan I made a soft yeast dough and let it rise for the afternoon.

image

I rolled small chunks of it very thinly and cooked them one at a time in a dry hot cast iron pan.

image

They just took about 2 minutes each. The naan puffed up and charred while the meatballs cooked.

image

image

They disappeared quickly.

image

This is high season for local food. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

