Birthdays.

image

My friend Genevieve has the good fortune of being 23 days older than me.  In my books, older is older.

image

She called yesterday to invite me to her birthday party pot luck and I decided to make a peach pie. 

I blanched and skinned the peaches, made a butter pastry crust, added brown sugar and allspice and topped it with an egg wash.

image

image

I freeze the butter before I  blend it with the flour. It helps make the pastry flakey. You can actually see the butter in the rolled out dough.

image

The pie was a hit. Thankfully all gluten free diets were left at home for the evening and we split the pie 15 ways.

image

Happy birthday Gen!

Leave a Reply

