Eating from the garden

image

The thing I  like about having the garden is that the lettuce is so fresh it doesn’t even know it’s dead yet:) 

I look forward  to all the wonderful things my garden might cough up this season but for now I’m happy with greens and herbs. 

image

Today my cucumbers and squash all broke through the soil to send up their first leaves.They weren’t there before work but they had magically appeared by 430  🙂

image

My salad is accompanied by some charred eggplant soup. I picked up some eggplants from the ‘overdue’ bin at Valumart the other day and charred them directly over the flame on my stove.  I sauteed onions and garlic, deglazed with vermouth, added eggplant, stock and tomato with some chili amd cumin and simmered before i pureed it.   Not bad at all. 

And for those of you who have been following along, Katherine  just texted to say that she’s headed to the hospital to have her baby:)  Fingers crossed and prayers said…..

Leave a Reply

