Ramps. And my favourite day of the year

I haven’t posted in a while… I got distracted by SPRING. planning gardens, planting fruit trees, strolling through nurseries, and general scheming. It’s been awesome.  

Plums are in blossom these days all over town and the flowers smell like honey and promise of good things to come.

image

And ramps AKA wild leeks arrived on the scene. My friend dropped off a big bag they had picked and I’ve been enjoying them daily in pasta and pickles and pesto.

image

And to top it all off, tomorrow is my favourite day of the year. At 11 am, the Barry’s Bay farmers market opens for the season. Likely only a small handful of vendors with a limited stock of goods but it will be AMAZING. I’ve been waiting all year!. I’ll likely buy one of everything and I can hardly wait to get caught up with all my farmer friends. It was a long winter for sure.

Leave a Reply

