Sri Lankan Cashew Curry

image

I follow a blog. Called Veggie Belly written by Sala, she lives in Portland OR, works in IT, and blogs about food. Her post today caught my attention right away and I ended up making it for dinner.

I’d never had anything like it and it was awesome. Here’s the link to her post http://veggiebelly.com I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except that in place of the Sri. Lankan curry powder I used some of the Bengali 5 spice mixture I blended up the other day – fennel, cumin, fenugreek, mustard seeds and kalonji 

image

Start by sautéing aromatics. Add the spices. Add the soaked cashews, coconut milk, tomato and water.

image

And cook at. A “lively simmer” for about 40 minutes.

I tried to capture “lively simmer” on video But couldn’t seem to upload it from the phone.

The result was, as you can imagine, awesome. An incredibly rich and flavourful dish. Definitely a recipe to keep for special occasions. 

An email from a friend reminded me that I never posted final kitchen pics affter the reno.   I was too busy cooking after such a long drought. I’ll get some posted soon.

And happy thoughts seemed to have worked. It sounds like my bro had a good day.

Leave a Reply

