Ya…so I didn’t blog much. in November

I’ve been getting settled in my new digs. Sort of settled at least. I move things in and put them away with the full expectation that I’ll be packing it all away soon for the reno. Such is life. I will likely be in some level of renovation disarray for the next 7 months between the kitchen and bathroom. Despite all that, the place is quite livable. And. I love it.

I’ve been cooking pretty much every day which is good.

image

Today was aloo gobi – cauliflower and potatoes. Normally. It gets eaten with some kind of bread but I don’t keep bread in the house so rice it was. Along with some left over turnip with coconut and mustard seeds. If you’re not a turnip lover this dish might win you over. If you like turnip and Indian food you might think you’ve died and gone to heaven. Google Vikas Khanna turnip for the recipe. It’s brilliant.

image

We’ve had snow on the ground for over a week now and it’s been snowing off and on since Saturday. All together there’s about 10 inches of it. So glad my commute is a walk around the corner.

image

Lots of Thai food lately. A yummy noodle soup and a veg curry. I. Like using food from my winter storage. Every day I’m using jams. And pickles and veg that I made or stored during the season. This is the way it’s supposed to be In the coming years I hope to be able to store and preserve enough to make it though most of the winter. Lots of it from my own garden.  :).

I never did blog about my move. It was a bit of an experience to say the least. If the world was a just place, UHAUL would be run of of business for being a crappy company with piss-poor customer. Service and no mechanism to file a complaint. I won’t go into detail but if you ever find yourself needing to rent a moving vehicle, don’t use uhaul, they suck. Thankfully angels saved me.

I’m glad November is behind us. Probably my least favourite month of them all. Only about 18 sleeps til the days start getting longer again and it’s time to decorate for Christmas :).

Leave a Reply

