Hunting Season and Car Parts in Renfrew County

 

It’s hunting seasson. I didn’t quite get the significance of that until it started but I’m beginning to understand. By ‘hunting season’ I mean that people are allowed to hunt deer with a rifle – there are other season for different things at different times with different types of firearms. This is the big one though.  And everyone goes. Lot’s of business tend to close or significantly reduce their staff and producitvity. If one could choose when the starter on their import car was going to die in Renfrew County , this probably wouldn’t be the time.

When my car didn’t start on Saturday morning, I figured it was the battery  and that I’d have to wait until Monday to get it fixed. No big deal… I live right in the centre of the village and had no plans to drive anywhere on the weekend. Except, it’s hunting season. The garage is working on a skeleton staff. The owner/mechanic had lots of people to tend to and the first chance he had to look at it was late Tuesday afternoon. He actually made a house call, confirmed his suspicion that it was the starter not the battery (based on my report that it went ‘click’ not ‘clickclickclick’), and he managed to get it going. But the starter needs to be replaced. Not really a big deal for city folk but it’s hunting season AND it’s an import car in the middle of rural Renfrew County. Aparently these things aren’t that easy to come by. I suspect that if I drove an F150 I could get a starter in a minute – but I don’t….yet…

starter

The part is ordered. It should be here by Thursday and he will install it right away. I have to trust that it will all work out as planned however it causes me some degree of stress. I have a full slate of activities planned in Kitchener, Cambridge, Killaloe and Ottawa over the next few days including moving my furniture up here, helping a close friend celebrate a birthday and attending a big fundraiser that’s important to me. But these are things I may just need to let go. Time will tell – it’s out of my control.

All things considered, I consider myself pretty  lucky. I can walk everywhere I need to be until Friday. I have a mechanic that makes house calls. There are  good people doing their best to make sure I get on my way in time. I have an opportunity to practise patience. And I live in paradise.

Next time my car dies though, I hope it’s not during the hunt.

Leave a Reply

