Home Sweet Home!

And we’re in! After a near kerfuffle and a good dose of rigmarole, we’re in. Molly and I that is.

image

We were able to pick up the keys from the lawyer around 5 yesterday, load up the truck (thanks Kim for loaning me the farm truck – it’s a bit of a pig but I haven’t met an F150 that I didn’t LOVE) and bring enough stuff to move in right away.

image

And i’m loving it!

Night one went very well. The kicker was the 3 minute walk to work this morning! So much nicer than a 30 minute drive. It turns out that I moved just in time. I awoke on the 30th to snow covered roads.

image

There was a car in the ditch on the business side of the Wilno hill and a truck on its side near Old Tressle Road. I am glad that my commuting days are in the past. 

I worked in the morning and had many visitors in the afternoon. The woodstove installer came over to give me a quote (what I had expected) and the Internet guy came to install (surprisingly painless for Bell). I also had a revolving door of office folks dropped in.

image

My second night here was Hallowe’en. I unpacked a LOT of boxes. Probably premature since I’m going to have to pack it up again for the reno but I am SO done with living out of boxes that it was a necessity. And I managed to carve a pumpkin and give out candy to about 60 kids. Not bad in a town with a population of 700.

The previous owners were smokers. Heavy HEAVY smokers. And the place is almost dripping with the stains. It will all clean up well so I’m not concerned. What’s interesting though is the nostalgia-factor. The place smells like 79 Cameron Ave. My gareandparent’s home. It’s funny how smell can trigger such strong memories. It’s really unmistakable. And I don’t mind it.

Home Sweet Home indeed.

Leave a Reply

