Baking. Canning. Preserving. Cooking. Eating.

Have I said how much I love this time of year!

image

That is the very last jar of tomatoes that I canned in 2012. Running out on August 15th tells me that I made the right amount. This year I’ll be dehydrating a bunch as well. I plan to pick them up at St Jacob’s Market on Labour Day weekend along with a bushel of red peppers for roasting and freezing and some habaneros for all manner of condiments.

image

Wild blackberries became jam.

image

And nectarines became chutney. An Indian flavored chutney with garlic ginger onions turmeric cumin and mustard seed. Vinegar and brown sugar to make it sweet and sour and an hour at a slow simmer to make it jammy.

image

Peaches became pie.

image

image

image

image

And once again, another basket of cucs became pickles. I also managed to get 5 litres of corn off the cob and into the freezer. A mix of Temptation and Paydirt he said. If I’m lucky I’ll do another 10 litres before the season is done. I liked having it in the freezer last winter.

image

Sunday morning breakfast of champions. On the deck.

image

Peach pie and eggs.

Leave a Reply

